Helpful resources
Ballotpedia: A nonprofit, nonpartisan online political encyclopedia that is simple and clear. Use it to check candidate background, voting record, and election results.
BallotReady.org: input your address to view candidates and get info.
League of Women Voters: Nonpartisan group encouraging informed and active participation in government, working to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influencing public policy through education and advocacy.
Project Vote Smart: A nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization that collects and distributes verified info about candidates for public office.
Vote411.org: Nonpartisan information about candidates' positions on issues; includes telephone numbers for assistance in Spanish, Arabic, and multiple Asian languages. Run by the League of Women voters.
Fact check
Center for Public Integrity: One of the oldest and largest nonprofit news organizations in the country. The Pulitzer Prize–winning newsroom is made up of reporters, editors, and data journalists who dig deep to deliver national and international investigative journalism of lasting significance.
FactCheck.org: Designed to help voters by “monitoring the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases.” A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center.
PolitiFact: A fact-checking website founded by editors of Time Magazine in conjunction with Congressional Quarterly.
Campaign finance info
Federal Election Commission: Official U.S. government website tracking campaign finance and donations.
Illinois Sunshine: User-friendly online tool from the nonpartisan Illinois State Board of Elections.
Access newspapers, paywall-free
If you read the news on a regular basis, a paid subscription will provide you the best readership experience and your support helps fund the reporting and publishing you have come to rely on.
For more occasional reading and access to outlets you don't usually read, use your library card to log in to get full-text news articles from outlets around the world.
- Daily Herald This link opens in a new window
Explore Arlington Heights and suburban area history through local news, events and people with the Daily Herald Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
- Lake County News-Sun This link opens in a new window
Explore Lake County history through local news, events and people with the Lake County News-Sun Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
- NewsBank - Chicago Community Coverage This link opens in a new window
Access local newspapers including Chicago Sun-Times, Daily Herald, Buffalo Grove Countryside, Vernon Hills Review, Lincolnshire Review, and Lake Zurich Courier. Search across all publications at once.
- Wall Street Journal: paywall-free access to WSJ.com This link opens in a new window
Direct access to The Wall Street Journal online. Four-year backfile access available through advanced search. (Does not include WSJ mobile app access.)
New users: create a free account to get access for 3 days. After that, simply return to this page, click the link again, and log in as an existing user with the same username/password you used when you created your account. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Read recent and older (to 1980s) full-text articles from more than 2,800 global sources including newspapers, newswires, journals, transcripts, videos, and digital content. Fully searchable news from North America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Crain's Chicago Business, and many local and regional newspapers.
- NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner, including the Chicago Sun-Times, Lake County News-Sun, Vernon Hills Review and more. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
Read any of 6,000+ newspapers and magazines from around the globe with instant access wherever you are. Includes U.S. newspapers like the New York Times and The Economist, as well as magazines on a range of subjects like food and drink, home and garden, health and fitness, and business. Issues of the daily and Sunday Chicago Tribune are no longer available on PressReader after 4/30/2024.