Serves victims of Nazi persecutions and their families by documenting their fate through the archives it manages in Bad Arolsen, Germany. The collection has information on about 17.5 million people and belongs to the UNESCO’s Memory of the World.
Includes an interactive library featuring the Midwest Visual History Collection of the USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education, more than 13,000 selections of adult and juvenile fiction, non-fiction, and reference titles in over 12 languages, and hundreds of videos and multimedia resources.
Main repository of items dedicated to Chicago Jewish history. The Archives collects historical material in all formats, including letters, diaries, photographs, memorabilia, audio and video tapes. Collections include the papers of families and individuals, Jewish organizations, synagogues, oral histories, and more.
Yad Vashem Library is the world's most comprehensive collection of published material about the Holocaust. It contains over 115,000 titles in 54 languages and seeks to collect all material published about the Holocaust, making it available to the reading public.
American Jewish Historical Society provides access to more than 20 million documents and 50,000 books, photographs, art and artifacts that reflect the history of the Jewish presence in the United States from 1654 to the present.
Jewish Genealogical Society of Illinois (JGSI) is a non-profit organization dedicated to helping members collect, preserve, and perpetuate the records and history of their ancestors. They serve as a resource for the worldwide community to research their Chicago area Jewish roots.
If you've hit a dead-end in your research, try these resources.